

AFA is working for you. The strength of faculty working together.

SPECIAL EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

May 17, 2013 (Approved by the Executive Council on August 28, 2013)

Executive Councilors present (noted by *):

*Julie Thompson, presiding Ted Crowell Andre LaRue Margaret Pennington

Dianne Davis *Paulette Bell *Sean Martin *Audrey Spall *Lara Branen-Ahumada Terry Ehret *Bud Metzger Mike Starkey Shawn Brumbaugh *Deirdre Frontczak *Terry Mulcaire *Phyllis Usina

*Paula Burks *Brenda Flyswithhawks *Nikona Mulkovich

Officers/Negotiators present: Lynn Harenberg-Miller, Jacqueline McGhee, Warren Ruud,

Jack Wegman

Staff members present: Judith Bernstein, Candy Shell

The meeting was called to order at 12:10 p.m. in Room #4246 in Doyle Library on the Santa

Rosa campus.

MAIN REPORT

1. Negotiations Report. This report and subsequent discussion were conducted in closed session. The Council moved out of closed session at 12:35 p.m.

ACTION ITEM

1. May 2013 Tentative Agreement. By a unanimous show of hands, the Council approved a motion made by Brenda Flyswithhawks and seconded by Lara Branen-Ahumada to recommend to the membership approval of the May 2013 Tentative Agreement (11 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions). The vote was followed by a round of applause, in a show of the Council's appreciation to Chief Negotiator Warren Ruud, AFA President Julie Thompson, as well as the other four members of the negotiating team, including Lara Branen-Ahumada, Dianne Davis, Lynn Harenberg-Miller and Jack Wegman, and Budget Analysis Team Leader Will Baty for all of their hard work on negotiations this year. Julie also extended her appreciation to AFA staff members Candy Shell and Judith Bernstein for their administrative support, and to outgoing Councilors and negotiators for their service to AFA and to faculty.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Judith Bernstein